EC names winners of provincial PR seats

January 18, 2018 05:00 am

KATHMANDU, Jan 18: The Election Commission (EC) has announced the winners of the provincial assemblies elected under the proportional representation (PR) category. Altogether 220 members of provincial assemblies have been elected under PR category.

KATHMANDU, Jan 17: The Election Commission (EC) is likely to announce winners of the provincial assemblies elected under Proportional Representation (PR) category on Wednesday.

BIRATNAGAR, Jan 15: Chief Election Commissioner Dr Ayodhee Prasad Yadav has said that authority should be given to the Election Commission to announce the election date.

KATHMANDU, Dec 31: The Election Commission has directed the political parties and candidates of the recently held elections to the House of Representatives and Provincial Assemblies to submit details of their election expenditure.

KATHMANDU, Dec 30: Nepali Congress (NC) has recommended 72 parliamentarians for the provincial assembly under proportional representation. NC has won 13, 11, 14, 9, 12, 5 and 8 seats in Province 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7 respectively.

KATHMANDU, Dec 29: KP Sharma Oli, chairperson of CPN-UML has accused Nepali Congress of unnecessarily piling pressure on the President to authenticate the National Assembly Election Ordinance. However, since the Ordinance was a constitutional work, the party had remained silent, Oli said.

KATHMANDU, Dec 29: President Bidya Devi Bhandari has today authenticated the ordinance on election to the National Assembly.

KATMANDU, Dec 24: With the allocation of the proportional seats of the provincial assemblies, election officials have begun verifying Proportional Representation (PR) votes cast to the parties in the parliamentary elections held recently before allocating seats for the central parliament.

KATHMANDU, Dec 22: Issuing a press statement, the Carter Center has hailed Nepal's election that was in accordance with International Standard.

PR vote counting concludes

December 18, 2017 05:00 am

KATHMANDU, Dec 18: The Election Commission (EC) on Sunday concluded the counting of Proportional Representation (PR) votes cast in the parliamentary and provincial polls held recently. Poll results show the CPN-UML, which bagged the most seats under the first-past-the-post (FPTP) electoral system, got the highest number of votes under the PR category as well.