My Republica

Bhadra Sharma

EC rules out polls in 22 newly-created local units

May 25, 2017 05:00 AM

KATHMANDU, May 25: Two days after the government created 22 additional local units in the southern plains, the Election Commission (EC) on Wednesday refused to accommodate the new local units in the second round elections slated for June 14.

Bad weather hampers ballot box collection in Humla

May 15, 2017 17:57 PM

KATHMANDU, May 15: Bad weather has affected collection of ballot boxes in Humla.

Vote counting begins in 179 local units

May 15, 2017 14:07 PM

KATHMANDU, May 15: Early vote counting shows Nepali Congress has taken a lead in Musikot Municipality Mayoral candidate. NC has secured 1236 while CPN (Maoist) is trailing in second position with 774 votes and UML in third with 396 votes.

Vote count begins in 129 local units

May 15, 2017 13:36 PM

KATHMANDU, May 15: Vote counting has begun in 129 local units of the total 281, the Election Commission said.

73% voter turnout in historic local polls

May 15, 2017 06:22 AM

KATHMANDU, May 14: Nepal on Sunday conducted the first round of elections in the 281 local units of three provinces, bringing out millions of first-time local-election voters to the polling centers. The local polls, held after a gap of 20 years, were peaceful.

Only 8 pc female candidates for local unit heads

May 9, 2017 05:00 AM

KATHMANDU, May 9: Only eight percent of the total number of candidates fielded for the positions of chiefs of local units -municipalities or rural municipalities - are female even though the election law has made it mandatory to field opposite genders for the chief and the deputy chief of a given unit.

Local unit candidacies filed in 34 districts

May 3, 2017 07:20 AM

KATHMANDU, May 2: Political parties and independent candidates in 34 districts of three of the provinces registered their candidacies for the first phase  local elections scheduled for May 14.

Against odds, EC sets stage for May 14 polls

May 2, 2017 05:00 AM

KATHMANDU, May 2: Despite confusion over the polls taking place, the Election Commission (EC) has set the stage for the first phase of local elections scheduled for May 14 as announced by the government.

Int'l community concerned over foreign observers' absence in local polls

April 29, 2017 01:00 AM

KATHMANDU, April 29: Key international donors and the diplomatic community have expressed their displeasure over the Election Commission (EC)'s refusal to allow international poll observing groups to monitor the May 14 local elections.

EC to begin vote counting shortly after phase I polls

April 26, 2017 05:00 AM

KATHMANDU, April 26: The Election Commission has decided to begin counting the votes cast in the first phase of the local level elections scheduled for May 14 immediately after the conclusion of the voting process.

EC sets conditions for polls in two phases

April 24, 2017 05:30 AM

KATHMANDU, April 24: The Election Commission (EC) on Sunday said that the polls can be conducted in two phases only if the recently printed ballot papers, voter rolls and voter ID cards are to be used for the second phase elections as well. The election body is for conducting the local elections in two phases without affecting the existing technical and managerial arrangements.

Do it anyway

April 20, 2017 00:25 AM

The local election will help revive local democracy, improve local government and empower marginalized communities

Do it anyway

April 20, 2017 00:25 AM

The local election will help revive local democracy, improve local government and empower marginalized communities

Nidhi's statement on poll security irks EC

April 17, 2017 21:50 PM

KATHMANDU, April 17: Concerned over a statement by Deputy Prime Minister and Home Minister Bimalendra Nidhi regarding election preparations and security arrangements, the Election Commission (EC) on Monday expressed its 'serious dissatisfaction'.

EC opens offices of chief returning officers in all 75 districts

April 17, 2017 00:30 AM

KATHMANDU, April 17: As part of final preparations for the May 14 elections, the Election Commission (EC) on Sunday set up the offices of the chief returning officers in all 75 districts. This is intended to give momentum to poll preparations across the country.

EC chief: No chance of backtracking

April 13, 2017 02:18 AM

KATHMANDU, April 11: Amid growing differences between political parties over conducting the local-level elections on the stipulated date, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Ayodhee Prasad Yadav has said the election body is committed to conducting the elections on May 14 and there's no chance of backtracking.

Polling stations fixed in all 75 districts

April 12, 2017 03:30 AM

KATHMANDU, April 11: The Election Commission (EC) has fixed polling stations in all 75 districts for the local level elections slated for May 14.

EC to begin printing ballots for Province 2 also

April 7, 2017 01:30 AM

KATHMANDU, April 6: The Election Commission (EC) is to start printing the ballot papers for Province 2 from Friday even as the government is still negotiating with the agitating Madhes-centric parties to bring them on board the election process.

EC pressured into relaxing election code

April 6, 2017 07:53 AM

KATHMANDU, April 5: Under pressure from the government, the Election Commission (EC) on Wednesday relaxed the election code of conduct, allowing government ministers to participate in poll campaigns  organized by their respective parties.

Polls in all 744 local units in one go: EC

April 5, 2017 05:30 AM

KATHMANDU, April 4: The Election Commission (EC) is preparing to conduct elections in all 744 local units regardless of the parties' failure to reach consensus on settling the demands raised by the agitating Madhes-based political parties.