My Republica

Bhadra Sharma

Polls open today for 6.4 million voters

June 28, 2017 06:00 AM

KATHMANDU, June 28: Following the successful first round local elections, the Election Commission (EC) is conducting the second round  local polls at 334 local units in Provinces 1, 5 and 7.

EC to tighten preventive measures against ballot tearing

June 27, 2017 05:00 AM

KATHMANDU, June 27: Following the Bharatpur ballot-tearing incident, the Election Commission (EC) has instructed polling officers and security agencies to adopt all available measures to keep ballot papers safe during the vote counting.

EC secy transferred after row over purchase of cars

June 23, 2017 06:00 AM

KATHMANDU, June 22: Just five days before the second round local elections, the government on Thursday transferred Election Commission Secretary Gopinath Mainali in a row over procurement of luxury cars for the five election commissioners and other logistics issues.

Polls in Province 2 deferred yet again

June 16, 2017 07:35 AM

KATHMANDU, June 15: Just a day before candidacy nominations, the government Thursday deferred the scheduled June 28 local election in Province 2.

EC refuses PM’s poll deferral plea

June 15, 2017 12:08 PM

KATHMANDU, June 14: The Election Commission (EC) has refused Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deubas proposal to defer second round of elections scheduled for June 28.

No prospect of bringing RJPN on board now

June 13, 2017 08:11 AM

KATHMANDU, June 12: Prospects of bringing Rastriya Janata Party Nepal (RJPN) on board the election process have now legally ended, with the party refusing to submit its party details to the election body within the given deadline.

EC allows diplomats to observe phase II polls

June 6, 2017 00:10 AM

KATHMANDU, June 6: In a major shift in its stance, the Election Commission (EC) has decided to allow the representatives of the Kathmandu-based diplomatic missions including United Nations officials to observe the second phase of local elections scheduled to be held in the remaining four provinces on June 28.

EC orders re-poll in Bharatpur Ward-19

June 4, 2017 07:24 AM

KATHMANDU, June 3: The Election Commission (EC) on Saturday instructed the local election officer to conduct a re-poll in  ward 19 of Bharatpur Metropolitan City, ending a week of confusion whether to resume vote counting there or go for a re-poll. But the main opposition CPN-UML has termed the decision ‘misfortunate’ and election experts  warned that a merely straightforward interpretation of the law in resolving the Bharatpur incident could complicate future elections and weaken the election body.

EC rules out polls in 22 newly-created local units

May 25, 2017 05:00 AM

KATHMANDU, May 25: Two days after the government created 22 additional local units in the southern plains, the Election Commission (EC) on Wednesday refused to accommodate the new local units in the second round elections slated for June 14.

Bad weather hampers ballot box collection in Humla

May 15, 2017 17:57 PM

KATHMANDU, May 15: Bad weather has affected collection of ballot boxes in Humla.

Vote counting begins in 179 local units

May 15, 2017 14:07 PM

KATHMANDU, May 15: Early vote counting shows Nepali Congress has taken a lead in Musikot Municipality Mayoral candidate. NC has secured 1236 while CPN (Maoist) is trailing in second position with 774 votes and UML in third with 396 votes.

Vote count begins in 129 local units

May 15, 2017 13:36 PM

KATHMANDU, May 15: Vote counting has begun in 129 local units of the total 281, the Election Commission said.

73% voter turnout in historic local polls

May 15, 2017 06:22 AM

KATHMANDU, May 14: Nepal on Sunday conducted the first round of elections in the 281 local units of three provinces, bringing out millions of first-time local-election voters to the polling centers. The local polls, held after a gap of 20 years, were peaceful.

Only 8 pc female candidates for local unit heads

May 9, 2017 05:00 AM

KATHMANDU, May 9: Only eight percent of the total number of candidates fielded for the positions of chiefs of local units -municipalities or rural municipalities - are female even though the election law has made it mandatory to field opposite genders for the chief and the deputy chief of a given unit.

Local unit candidacies filed in 34 districts

May 3, 2017 07:20 AM

KATHMANDU, May 2: Political parties and independent candidates in 34 districts of three of the provinces registered their candidacies for the first phase  local elections scheduled for May 14.

Against odds, EC sets stage for May 14 polls

May 2, 2017 05:00 AM

KATHMANDU, May 2: Despite confusion over the polls taking place, the Election Commission (EC) has set the stage for the first phase of local elections scheduled for May 14 as announced by the government.

Int'l community concerned over foreign observers' absence in local polls

April 29, 2017 01:00 AM

KATHMANDU, April 29: Key international donors and the diplomatic community have expressed their displeasure over the Election Commission (EC)'s refusal to allow international poll observing groups to monitor the May 14 local elections.

EC to begin vote counting shortly after phase I polls

April 26, 2017 05:00 AM

KATHMANDU, April 26: The Election Commission has decided to begin counting the votes cast in the first phase of the local level elections scheduled for May 14 immediately after the conclusion of the voting process.

EC sets conditions for polls in two phases

April 24, 2017 05:30 AM

KATHMANDU, April 24: The Election Commission (EC) on Sunday said that the polls can be conducted in two phases only if the recently printed ballot papers, voter rolls and voter ID cards are to be used for the second phase elections as well. The election body is for conducting the local elections in two phases without affecting the existing technical and managerial arrangements.

Do it anyway

April 20, 2017 00:25 AM

The local election will help revive local democracy, improve local government and empower marginalized communities