565 CA members sworn in, first CA meet today  


KATHMANDU, Jan 22:  With 565 of the total 601 lawmakers taking oath of office and secrecy on Tuesday, the newly elected Constituent Assembly (CA) is all set to begin its business of drafting the new statute.

Eldest CA member Surya Bahadur Thapa on Tuesday administered the oath to 565 lawmakers amidst a special ceremony at the CA Building in New Baneshwar. The first meeting of the new CA is scheduled for 3 pm, Wednesday.

Eldest CA member Surya Bahadur Thapa on Tuesday administering the oath to 565 lawmakers amidst a special ceremony at the CA Building.

The CA secretariat has finalized the business for the first meeting. Among other things, a discussion would be held on forming a taskforce to make amendments to CA Regulations 2065 BS.

Officials at the CA Secretariat said the meeting will also form a panel of five to seven CA members for chairing the CA meeting until a chairman and vice chairman of the new CA are elected. The meeting will also thank the government, Election Commission, media, international community and all others for making the November 19 elections a success.
Of the total 601 members, the new CA has yet to get its 30 members.

While four members have won the election from two constituencies, the cabinet is yet to appoint the remaining 26 members to give CA a full shape. The Election Commission is scheduled to hold by-election in four constituencies soon.

Of the total 571 CA members, five members did not attend the swearing in ceremony on Tuesday. Those failing to turn up were Pradip Giri, Narayan Khadka and Subarna Jwarchan of Nepali Congress, Bamsidhar Mishra of CPN-UML and Abhishekh Pratap Sah of Madhesi People´s Rights Forum-Nepal.
Octogenarian Thapa himself was administered oath of office and secrecy as CA member by President Dr Ram Baran Yadav at Shital Niwas on Monday.

Representation of veterans

While the new CA has 84 percent new members, it also has veteran leaders with considerably long experience in parliamentary politics.
Various senior leaders including NC President Sushil Koirala, Krishna Sitaula, Arjun Narsingh KC, Gopal Man Shrestha, Sujata Koirala and Bal Bahadur KC, who were not in the previous CA, have been elected lawmakers. Similarly, Khadga Prasad Oli, Bamdev Gautam, Bidya Bhandari, Bharat Mohan Adhikari and Yubaraj Gyawali will also represent the new CA.

However, senior UCPN (Maoist) leaders including Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Post Bahadur Bogati and Barshaman Pun, who played an important role in the previous CA, are not in the new CA.

Typical chemistry
Surya Bahadur Thapa and his son Sunil Thapa (RPP) are both representing the new CA. Similarly, NC senior leader Sher Bahadur Deuba, his wife Arzu Rana Deuba, Amrit Bohara and his wife Asta Laxmi Shakya of CPN-UML will also be representing the new CA. Likewise, UML leaders Surendra Pandey and Rajendra Pandey from UML are siblings.
Many lawmakers of NC, UML, RPP and RPPN had sported Daura Suruwal to the swearing in ceremony, while others were clad in ethnic attires. The lawmakers took oath of office and secrecy in 11 different languages. Former Chairman of Constituent Assembly Subash Chandra Nembang had taken oath in Limbu language.

CA members taking oath in mother tongue
Maithili: 13
Hindi: 11
Awadhi: 5
Nepal Bhasa: 3
Magar: 3
Limbu: 2
Gurung: 2
Tharu: 2
Bhojpuri: 1
Kirant/Rai: 1
Madhesi: 1

    Published on 2014-01-22 00:00:00
# #

Please give your full name while posting your comments. This is not to stifle the free flow of comments but your full name will enable us to print the comments in our newspaper.


565 CA Members Sworn In, First CA Meet Today
Comment on this news #




US national held on rape charge


Low 6oC
High 22oC
Sunrise 6:46 am
Sunset 5:49 pm


  Daily News
  Photo Gallery