42 pc new faces in parliament under FPTP

December 13, 2017 06:22 am

KATHMANDU, Dec 13: Of the total 165 lawmakers in parliament to be elected under the first-past-the-post (FPTP) category, at least 40 percent are going to be new faces. In the 275-member lower house, 110 members are to be nominated under the proportional representation (PR) category after the allocation of PR seats to  political parties on the basis of the PR votes they secured  across the country.

KATHMANDU, Dec 13: CPN-UML has continued its lead in the vote counts of federal and provincial parliamentary elections under the Proportional Representation (PR) electoral system till early this morning.  According to the latest vote count results unveiled by the Election Commission, CPN-UML has secured 1,685,069 votes while Nepali Congress is in second position with 1,593,758 votes.

DPM Shrestha defeated in Syangja-2

December 12, 2017 21:53 pm

SYANGJA, Dec 12: Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Education Gopal Man Shrestha has faced defeat in Syangja-2 for House of Representatives. CPN-UML candidate Padma Kumari Aryal has secured the victory by 3706 votes.

DOLAKHA, Dec 12: CPN-UML has bagged highest votes in Propotional Representaional system in Dolakha.

BAGLUNG, Dec 12: Nepali Congress that lost all seats towards first-past-the-post elections in Baglung has become the first party in the proportional representations (PR) elections in the district.

Votes counting resumes in Sunsari-3

December 12, 2017 13:48 pm

ITHARI, Dec 12: The votes counting has rsumed n Sunsari-3, Where Nepali congress candidate Bijaya Kumar Gachhedhar and his nearest rival from CPN-UML Bhagawati Chaudhary are vying for the House of Representatives.

Dhangadhi, Dec 12 :Resham Lal Chaudhary, the Rastriya Janata Party Nepal ( RJPN) candidate for the House of Representatives election from the Kailali-1 has won the election with 34,341 votes to his favor.

PALPA, Dec 12: CPN-UML has secured 30, 114 votes in Palpa-1 in the parliamentary elections under the proportional representation (PR) category. Similarly, Nepali Congress has obtained 22, 945 votes while CPN (Maoist Center) has got 1,949 votes. Mangol National Organization has secured 922, Bibeksheel Sajha got 495 while Rastriya Janamorcha secured 217 while Rastriya Janamukti Party got 123 votes.

SYANGJA, Dec 12: CPN (Maoist Center) candidate for Syangja-1 (A) Dipak Thapa has been elected to the Provincial Assembly. Thapa defeated his closest rival of Nepali Congress Kamal Prasad Pangeni with a margin of 2726 votes.

KANCHANPUR, Dec 12: CPN-UML candidate Deepak Prakash Bhatta has secured victory defeating  Nepali Congress prominent leader Ramesh Lekhak by 258 votes in Kanchanpur-3.